___.                         __            
\_ |_________   ____ _____  |  | __________
 | __ \_  __ \_/ __ \\__  \ |  |/ /\___   /
  | \_\ \  | \/\  ___/ / __ \|    <  /    / 
   |___  /__|    \___  >____  /__|_ \/_____ \
        \/            \/     \/     \/      \/
	
It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:11 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 cubase sx input channel 
Author Message
Junior

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 2:54 am
Posts: 37
Location: zetel
Post cubase sx input channel
ahoihoi,

i connected an external midi device to my pc and initialized it in cubase. The midi sync works like a charm, but now i want the output of my external device to be a channel in cubase. I connected the output of the device to the line-in of my pc soundcard. I can hear the sound through my pc on my monitoring system, but i can't let the sound go thru a cubase channel!
I checked the manual, but as far as i can see it's something with the VST-output channel as i'm getting refered to....that doesn't work....

Is this actually possible? and if so, what should i do to get it working?

And if this should work correctly then what's gonna be the deal with "exporting the sound"? will it be neccessary to record the external devices' channel sepperetly and then import it back in the cubase....?

damn....questions, questions....holy muse of answers...pay me a visit!! :P

Greetz


Wed Feb 12, 2003 3:26 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 11:32 pm
Posts: 772
Location: The Void
Post 
cubase only works as good/gives u as many hardware features as the audio interface that it runs on, dont forget we're talking about native software here...

what soundcard are you using?


Wed Feb 12, 2003 4:01 pm
Profile WWW
Junior

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 2:54 am
Posts: 37
Location: zetel
Post 
my soundcard is "Avance AC'97 Audio" ...if that's any help to you :D

it's dolby surround (center(2)/rear(2)/sub(1)), line-in, mic-in

others (non-audiocard): S/PDIF in/out (what's this for anyway?)

and composite (but that's only video isn't it?)

Greetz


Wed Feb 12, 2003 4:08 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 11:32 pm
Posts: 772
Location: The Void
Post 
no offence meand but that's like getting the outerworks of a ferrari, putting a 2pk engine in it and still expect that it runs smooth, fast and without flaws..

BTW i dont know if your problem is a setting that needs adjustment or a flaw of the audiodriver you're using but i do know one thing
cubase runs like shit on ac97 onboard sound, slow, buggy etc.. isnt even officially supported


Wed Feb 12, 2003 5:58 pm
Profile WWW
Junior

Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 4:53 am
Posts: 19
Post 
zzero wrote:
no offence meand but that's like getting the outerworks of a ferrari, putting a 2pk engine in it and still expect that it runs smooth, fast and without flaws..

BTW i dont know if your problem is a setting that needs adjustment or a flaw of the audiodriver you're using but i do know one thing
cubase runs like shit on ac97 onboard sound, slow, buggy etc.. isnt even officially supported


all fair and square, but i asked for some help, not to critize my lame soundcard. As lame as hell as that might be, if there's a sound comming out of my pc, that if have putted in from an external device, it should be able to be routed into cubase, no sjit about expencive devices, just about common sense.


*edit* This is Chang Van Orten speaking through Reign's device, just for the record


Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:28 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 11:32 pm
Posts: 772
Location: The Void
Post 
I wasnt giving critics, but merely the fact that cubase is a NATIVE app, it runs as well and has as many options as the hardware and driver that it runs on.

cubase doesn't run anygood on onboard motherboard chip soundcards, it doesnt even support most of those drivers due to limitations. How are you gonna route a signal to cubase when cubase doesnt support the driver that you're trying to use ?

Anyways lets see how far we get this coverred or fixed..

what version of cubase are we speaking of here?

vst.. sx ??
and which driver did u choose to test it? mme or directx ??

*edit* redited my post, morning mood is over :P


Sat Feb 15, 2003 11:38 am
Profile WWW
BREAKZ.BE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:47 am
Posts: 4222
Location: Antwerp
Post 
did you make an audiotrack with as input your soundcard input? The sound should be routed through this audiotrack then.
After that, record some stuff on that track and start fiddling in the mixer. As far as i know, you can't work realtime with soundinputs in cubase (i might be wrong here, don't know that much off cubase anyway)

_________________
Last.fm - Facebook - g+


Tue Feb 18, 2003 8:41 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 11:32 pm
Posts: 772
Location: The Void
Post 
cjpa wrote:
can't work realtime with soundinputs in cubase (i might be wrong here, don't know that much off cubase anyway)


:?:

activate the input, make an audiotrack, route the input to the channel, press record, record the audio and let it record while making changes to the mix and fx ?

or what do u mean with the realtime part?


Wed Feb 19, 2003 8:56 am
Profile WWW
BREAKZ.BE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:47 am
Posts: 4222
Location: Antwerp
Post 
realtime: the fact that you can change the sound of your inputstream, in realtime. So, if i connect a mic to my input, i can use vocoders and stuff in realtime (i can't get it to work like that anyway).

but, that's not what his question was about anyway, so...

_________________
Last.fm - Facebook - g+


Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:05 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Junior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 2:59 am
Posts: 35
Location: Heverlee (louvain)
Post 
ac 97 sorry forget it ;-)


Fri Jun 20, 2003 6:13 pm
Profile ICQ
Junior

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 2:54 am
Posts: 37
Location: zetel
Post 
a few months later and a few vacation jobz later...

if i were to buy a real :wink: soundcard, could this setup than actually work?

mpc (drumz/midi linked) => audiocard(input) => cubase channel => vst-fx => recording/exporting


and if yes;
- what type of audio card are we talking about
- by functioning correctly i do mean smooth work, cause if it still envolves large quantities of luck and patience, there's got to be another way

just wanna make shure what to spend my money on, so anyone who's got some experience with these kinda setups, all help welcome!

Cheerz

_________________
www.10-11.tk


soundz & visualz


Sat Sep 20, 2003 9:34 pm
Profile
Gamorah Sound

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 1:38 am
Posts: 2566
Location: on the swerve !(nomad)
Post 
there is no way of using vst effect's and eq in realtime
when the source is an audio input ... you have to record first !

peace ...

_________________
you wot mate ?


Mon Oct 20, 2003 1:08 pm
Profile WWW
BREAKZ.BE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:47 am
Posts: 4222
Location: Antwerp
Post 
panzar wrote:
there is no way of using vst effect's and eq in realtime
when the source is an audio input ... you have to record first !

peace ...


They should be able to do that though. I'd rather like to see it that way. Lately i'm recording a lot of guitars on my PC and when working with distorted guitars, i'd like to know beforehand how something will sound - instead of guessing how i should play something to get the best result.
Well - in a perfect world we wouldn't even have to play it in - we'd just think it into our sequencer *G*

_________________
Last.fm - Facebook - g+


Thu Dec 18, 2003 3:56 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.